No announcement yet.

NASCAR Driver Changes 2012

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • NASCAR Driver Changes 2012

    The 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup season is almost here so it's time to catch up on who will be where in 2012. Some of the sport's biggest names have changed teams this year in what has been one of the most active off-seasons in recent memory.

    Kasey Kahne
    Kasey Kahne leaves the now-folded Red Bull Racing team to replace Mark Martin in the Hendrick Motorsports #5. Kenny Francis comes over from Red Bull with Kahne to remain as his crew chief. The primary sponsor will be Farmers Insurance.

    Clint Bowyer
    Clint Bowyer makes his way over from Richard Childress Racing to create a full-time third team for Michael Waltrip Racing. Brian Pattie will be the crew chief and Five Hour Energy will be the primary sponsor on the #15.

    A.J. Allmendinger
    A.J. Allmendinger was the primary beneficiary of Kurt Busch's temper tantrum at the very end of last season. By the time Kurt Busch was booted from the Roger Penske #22 most of the top rides for 2012 had already been claimed. This left both Kurt Busch and Roger Penske with real problems which Penske definitely got the better of.

    Aric Almirola
    Aric Almirola returns to the Cup series after finishing second in the Camping World Truck Series points in 2010 and fourth in Nationwide Series points in 2011. Almirola is back to take over the Richard Petty Motorsports seat vacated by A.J. Allmendinger. This year the #43 will host Smithfield Foods as the primary sponsor.

    Kurt Busch
    After getting booted from Penske Racing after the season ended Kurt Busch was left to scramble for the best available seat remaining. All of the top seats were already claimed for 2012 which didn't leave Kurt with many options.

    Mark Martin
    Mark Martin's contract with Hendrick Motorsports expired at the end of the 2011 season and as expected Kasey Kahne will be taking over his old #5. Martin moves over to Michael Waltrip Racing to run part-time in the #55 Aaron's Dream Machine Toyota.

    Danica Patrick
    Danica Patrick is one driver that NASCAR fans will be keeping an eye on. Danica is scheduled to run the full Nationwide Series in 2012 along with ten select Sprint Cup events including the 2012 Daytona 500. Danica will drive the #10 Chevrolet for Stewart-Haas Racing in her Sprint Cup starts.

    Last edited by deanac24; 02-17-2012, 02:45 PM.
Previously entered content was automatically saved. Restore or Discard.
Insert: Thumbnail Small Medium Large Fullsize Remove  

Which state is west of NH?